Tags

, , ,


Ooops!

It’s been such a long time away from this space. I have blogged sparingly in the last thirty days, even though so much has happened and I could have written quite a number of posts. I just never managed to put something down. But, today is the last of May 2011, so I decided to share some thoughts regardless of my current inexplicable state of mind.

This month in the overall has been rather significant. On Saturday 6 May 2011, it was exactly ten years since I lost my dad. He had died two days after an accident. (I can’t really talk much about it now, still; maybe someday in the near future I’ll be able to gather enough strength to write extensively about that single incident and how the years before and after have impacted on my becoming a man myself.) He died just a day before I started my JSS 3 mock examinations and I had to skip some papers. (I remember scoring 100% in my Integrated Science mock exam when I finally wrote mine a week later.) Coincidentally, on that day this year, I spent most of the day attending Covenant Christian Centre’s The Platform 8.0, and the Impact Sessions thereafter – it was a day of intense learning.

On Monday 16 May 2011, it was a year since I finally took the courage to start this Blog. I called it Egbe’s Diary, but soon changed it several months down the line. It’s been full of adventure and fun all the way! I am amazed at the scores of people who have encouraged me through their comments on this blog. Many have been blessed and helped through the great posts that have been published here by my wonderful guest writers and my humble self, through the inspiration of God whom I believe in. My blogging experience has been therapeutic in no small ways, cathartic even. I had started it at a time when I had been frantically searching for much more meaning in life. I was in my final year in the university and was overly concerned about the next steps and what the world beyond the ‘four walls’ held for me. Today I must say that I am very grateful that I started this blog.

Yesterday, I addressed about fifty young people at a writing seminar at the Youth Church of the Mountain of Fire Ministries in Lagos. It was quite refreshing and inspiring interacting with aspiring writers… The coming weeks and months and years of my life are not very clear to me, but I rest assured that He who began a good work in me is able to complete it*. In early July, a month from now, I’m off to serve my country, Nigeria, under the mandatory one-year National Youth Service Corps scheme. I am not sure where I’ll be posted to, neither can I tell what the frequency of my blog posts would be like, but I am optimistic that I’ll keep blogging here for more time to come. I love to write, and as long I continue to read and observe my environment, I can’t do without writing. Hopefully, you’ll truly enjoy the many more wonderful posts to come – from guest writers and me. Wishing you a happy new month in advance! 🙂

*Philippians 1:6
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
I leave you with Steve Green’s musical version of Philippians 1:6. Enjoy and see you soon!

Chorus
He who began a good work in you x2
Will be faithful to complete it
He’ll be faithful to complete it
He who started the work
Will be faithful to complete in you

Verse:
If the struggle you’re facing
Is slowly replacing your hope with despair
Or the process is long
And you’re losing your song in the night
You can be sure
That the Lord has His hand on you
Safe and secure
He will never abandon you
You are His treasure
And He finds His pleasure in you

Repeat Chorus x2
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Photo Credit: 350orbust.wordpress.com

