Tags

, , , , , ,


It’s been quite a while –over a week actually, that I last made a post on this blog. I’ve been thinking about it and realised it would be a lot better to put proper structure to the frequency of posts here. From now on, every Tuesday and Friday, I will post new content to this blog and provide links to my articles, interviews, and short stories when they are published on other web portals. Occasionally, there may be a third day of posting.

In the coming weeks and months, I will be doing guest posts (on other blogs) and getting published on several platforms, but you can be sure to get the links here. I will also provide exclusive “Behind-the-Scene” tales here –what you will hardly see anywhere else. I have done a number of Interviews on BellaNaija.com and I think you mind find some of the intricacies involved in putting those interviews together quite interesting. I will be sharing how I met some of the interviewees and why I decided to interview them; how energy-sapping and emotionally challenging some have been and a host of other bonus stuff.

About three weeks ago, I wrote a narrative lyrical analysis of “Bamidele”, a bonus track on Beautiful Imperfections, Asa’s sophomore album. Asa is one of Nigeria’s most respected musicians/guitarists at the moment and she has toured Nigeria, the United States, France and several other countries in Europe. I enjoy her music a lot and the beautiful, often playful, way she presents her satire. She is a social critic who does her thing with a bias for the Yoruba Language. That language is filled with a lot of poetry and idioms that only very few people can interpret exactly. But that’s for another day.

After my analysis of that track (Bamidele), many of the readers on BN pleaded for a similar post for “Bimpe”, another beautiful piece which could have easily been my favourite, if not that it’s not as slow as “Bamidele”. You can read the full narrative lyrical analysis on Asa’s Bimpe on BellaNaija here. Kindly let me know via your comments here, what you think about the new posting schedule on this blog and what you think of my narrative analyses on those two songs from Asa’s sophomore album! -GN!

Photo credit: blog.theapronthief.com

