Tags

, , , ,


Loy Okezie was born in Lagos, and grew up in a small town along the Badagry Expressway. He has traveled around Africa and Europe, with a passion for technology, start-ups and new media communication tools for business success. As a digital media strategist, technology blogger and startups analyst, he has consulted for several small and mid-size companies, helping to startup CareersNigeria.com, one of the leading job portals in Nigeria, in 2007. Loy works full-time as a Content Developer for ConnectNigeria.com, an information search portal for Nigeria similar to Yahoo! and AOL. He is a contributor to Memeburn, a technology news and analysis site. As a conference speaker, he was at the Mobile Web Africa conference in Johannesburg, South Africa in 2009 and 2010, and is billed to speak at the 2011 edition in Nigeria next month, as well as the 9 Ideas Conference in Douala, Cameroon, in the following month. He also moderated the panel session at the Bar Camp at the University of Lagos in 2010. In this In-depth interview with BN Editorial Assistant, Gbenga Awomodu, Loy tells us more about his passion, how to make money legitimately from the internet, and web technology prospects in 2011.

Please, tell us about yourself.

I like to describe myself as a self-motivated, fun-loving and fashionable person, though my fashion style sucks sometimes. Maybe that’s because I studied business from the University of Abuja, and fashion style there ‘dulled’ my sense of fashion. (Laughs). Not even my brief stint in Paris, France, the home of fashion helped. That’s sad. Good thing BellaNaija.com features fashion and style. Well, I guess should be reading more of Bella Naija than my Bible, yeah? Talking about reading, the inspiration for what I do comes from several books I read on how technology companies such as Google, Yahoo! and eBay started. Not to mention the technology blogs I read every day. As a result, I’ve developed more respect for entrepreneurial people and consistently seek ways to engage with like-minded people, embrace new technologies and empower early-stage startups. All of these have helped me gain more experience in starting online ventures, mentoring young people, and consulting to several organizations over the last couple of years.

Finish reading the interview here!

