Deadline for entries: 30 November 2011

Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani won a Betty Trask Award in 2010

The Betty Trask Award for a first novel given by the Society of Authors to citizens of the Commonwealth under the age of 35. The awards have been established since 1984 and total £25,000 each year. The prizes are awarded to traditional or romantic novels, while those of an experimental nature are excluded.Awards are given for both published and unpublished works. They are funded from a bequest by the late Betty Trask, a reclusive author of over thirty romance novels.

Criteria for entry
(i) The author must be a Commonwealth citizen.
(ii) The author must be under the age of 35 at 31st December 2011.
(iii) The author must not have had any novel published (other than the one submitted).
(iv) The work submitted must be in the English language and the work of one author (not a translation).
(v) The work submitted must be a novel of a romantic or traditional nature (i.e. not experimental).
(vi) The work submitted may be published or unpublished:

 The work must have been published in, or be due for publication in 2011
 If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the Betty Trask Prize.

How to Enter
Click here download entry form and meet the 2010 winners!

Photo credit: womenswordsafricanworlds.wordpress.com