Tags

, ,


“Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of [things] in heaven, and [things] in earth, and [things] under the earth; And [that] every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ [is] Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” -Philippians 2:9-11

Have you been missing church lately? Have you suddenly started feeling cold towards God’s presence? Trouble may be in the brew! I was in a church service two Sundays ago; the very first time in about five weeks and several things happened (to me) that opened my eyes again and confirmed the piercing power of praise and worship. I enjoy singing, but I usually go beyond the mere physical act; I am a worshipper. I sing with my whole spirit, soul and body. Music gets to me easily (the melody, piano chords, chord progressions, vocal harmony, etc.) and I am particular about lyrics too. God’s presence, especially when I launch into that deeper level, is felt strongly than ever. God truly inhabits the praises of his people!

I have observed that if you truly possess a conscience (not that which is already seared as noted in 1Tim.4:2), when you truly worship, several things float to the surface. This is because burdens are lifted and you become light enough to float! Yes, the devil comes up with accusations and tries to burden you with guilt and makes you want to give up on yourself and God.

However, there is liberation around the corner when we worship God in His presence and let our weaknesses cry out to Him. If you have done things you are not proud of, earlier in the week, and you step into God’s presence (true praise and worship as well as sermons in this case often serves as a good place), if you truly possess a conscience and you have not hardened your heart, there is hardly any way you would not break down under the ministration.

Have you observed people drop tears and even cry during praise and worship in church/fellowship meetings before? Can you recall deliverance sessions during revival programmes when people who were possessed of evil spirit could not just bear it to hear the name of Jesus; how after some moments of praise and worship, the evil spirit cannot withstand the overwhelming presence of God? Often times, it is that inciting, piercing, revealing and liberating Power in worship that sends all clutters and guilt of the past onto the surface; it pushes them onto the surface for immediate attention.

Now, there are people who you observe cry/drop tears almost every time in church; it may just be a natural expression of intense passion in God’s presence, but for some it may be that they have yet to fully deal with transgressions that easily beset them. Such people may need to seek help and counseling with a mature believer, most likely the church pastor.

Oftentimes, when you avoid God’s presence and begin to feel numb towards fellowshipping with the brethren, the devil is happy. Gradually, he begins to suck you away from God’s presence into a vacuum filled with guilt, shame, haunting by past mistake that God finds easy to forgive and many other evils that keep gnawing at your soul and eating deep like cancer! When next you start feeling that numbness towards God, it is not the time to (seek to) run away from Him; you can’t! You can’t afford to! Go ask Jonah. Things can only get worse that way. Please, at such times, we need to take the courage to consciously seek God. It may mean you breaking down under the incredible power and His awesome presence that overwhelms you during praise and worship.

I recently fell sick and had been trying to suppress the symptoms with basic drugs for weeks, but it was obvious that I needed to nip the illness in the bud. I don’t enjoy/fancy receiving injections and before that time, I had not received any injections in my behind for at least four years!

So I really kept negotiating with the nurse that I’d prefer bitter pills to jabs of the injection. You can see my recent post for more details. I eventually succumbed to three jabs over a period of three days. By the end of the first night, my eyeballs which had been hitherto red had become crystal clear; whiter than I had ever observed in a long while! I found sleep again; sleep which had eluded me for weeks. Don’t merely try to suppress your ailment and signs of spiritual and emotional malady; bare yourself to God and let him do the healing. He may choose to give you injections like the nurse did to me, but it is for your own good!

